Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 1st, 2024, 4:21pm

Balance: £6.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« crazy radiator fans »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   crazy radiator fans
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: crazy radiator fans  (Read 1888 times)
catalina

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

crazy radiator fans
« on: Jan 28th, 2012, 10:25pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

On my cosworth, both radiator fans stop and start erratically. They start even when the engine is cold, maybe will run for 2 minutes, then stop for a few minutes, then start, stop etc,etc,etc.
Also, the AC light comes on for no good reason, but the fans seem to stop and start irrespective of whether the AC light is on.  

I have changed the large green relay situated behind the offside headlamp. Also the temperature sensor situated on the top hose at the front of the engine. Also tried disconnecting this temperature sensor.  No difference; the fans still start and stop erratically.

Can anyone tell me where the gubbins that controls the fans is located. Is it the unit just below the temperature sensor, which seems to have a complicated ribbed plastic cover from which wires exit? Does this cover come off? If so how? The wires enter a   1 cm dia ribbed plastic ducting. (I have no idea where the other end of this ducting is).

The engine never gets up to normal temperature but I want to solve this fan problem before I consider replacing the thermostat situated behind the AC. compressor.  

Are there perhaps any clear circuit diagrams for the cooling system?

Any advice would be much appreciated. I'm getting hypothermia, without the heater working efficiently.

Cheers

John
IP Logged

Still learning, slowly.
Tompion
Administrator

1997 2.3 Ultima estate.

View Profile