Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 19th, 2024, 10:26am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Engine Running Bad »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Engine Running Bad
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Engine Running Bad  (Read 5785 times)
don

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Engine Running Bad
« on: Feb 15th, 2012, 2:32am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi i have just found this site and i am after some advice,I have a 1995 scorpio estate ultima and it sounds like it is running on 3 cylinders and stinks of unburnt fuel,  It is a 2.0 litre dohc engine up till now it has run perfect, i have had it  into the garage and they said that the wiring loom is duff it is all hard and britle and they want £350 to fix it,is this a good price,ANY IDEAS. I need to get it fixed as soon as possible as my wife is disabled and we need it to get about,i have a little bit of car know how,so is it something i could do myself and what would be the cost.

many thanks.
IP Logged
Kenboy

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Re: Engine Running Bad
« Reply #1 on: Feb 15th, 2012, 6:15am »

Hi Sorry about this  but I am afraid you will have to bite the bullet on this one, the price is about right, some members have managed to repair old looms but generally this can only be considered a stop gap method, and you have to know what you are doing, this is a common fault with these cars.

Kenboy
IP Logged
Tompion
Administrator

1997 2.3 Ultima estate.

View Profile

« Reply #2 on: Feb 15th, 2012, 10:03am »

Details on changing the damaged loom are here (ignore the quoted cost):
http://www.fordscorpio.co.uk/dohcloom.htm

New ones are here:
http://www.fordpartsuk.com/shop/ford_scorpio_94-96_dohc_16v_fuel_shut_of f_loom_f_1003462_c_281.htm

Or same firm on Ebay: