Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 2nd, 2024, 10:18pm

Balance: £6.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Catalytic Converter broken? »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Catalytic Converter broken?
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Catalytic Converter broken?  (Read 1075 times)
wolfblood

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

Catalytic Converter broken?
« on: Apr 17th, 2012, 12:45pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi  

I think my Cat might have broken as I can hear a sound like a marble in a can when driving.

Unfortunately I haven't got my ramps anymore so cannot get under the car yet to check.

One other problem I am having however is that the engine keeps running rough (like a misfire) then cutting out. When restarted it is fine.  Could this be related to the faulty Cat blocking the exhaust somehow?

Cheers in advance.
IP Logged
Nunnspoet

I love YaBB 1G - SP1!

View Profile

Re: Catalytic Converter broken?
« Reply #1 on: Apr 17th, 2012, 7:43pm »

It could be the AC pump. I had similar experiences with one of my 24 valve Scorps. I took the AC drive belt off and all symptoms disapeared. She now runs like a dream.  If the Pump is seizing it causes a huge drag on the engine.

If this cures your problems I suggest you disconect the multiplug from the top of the AC pump for good measure.

My missus is dead chuffed not having air conditioning.(dries her throat!). And I find I like the Climate Control .

Good luck mate

Mike  Smiley
IP Logged
Lazenby43

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile WWW

« Reply #2 on: Apr 27th, 2012, 8:35pm »

http://www.fordscorpio.co.uk/cgi-bin/yabb/YaBB.pl?board=Problems;action= display;num=1328975578

Sounds like mine was. I had to pay a garage (friend) to fit. Seized bolts - manifolds off - 3 hours!
IP Logged
wolfblood