Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 19th, 2024, 12:37pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« 1998 Scorpio 24v Cosworth Starting problems »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   1998 Scorpio 24v Cosworth Starting problems
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: 1998 Scorpio 24v Cosworth Starting problems  (Read 5683 times)
Paul-Minter

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

1998 Scorpio 24v Cosworth Starting problems
« on: Dec 15th, 2012, 10:14am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

It all started with the alarm sounding off.  I now have the ignition on but the engine will not crank and when the ignition key is removed all the ignition lights are still on!  Local garages will not entertain it and a auto electrician tells me it is the anti theft system (PATS)  I now have put the car into Dagenham Motors Group, they have had it a week and cannot sort it out, please can somebody help, I am a new member.
IP Logged
Simmo
Administrator

I'm an OAP !

View Profile

Re:  1998 Scorpio 24v Cosworth Starting probl
« Reply #1 on: Dec 15th, 2012, 12:02pm »

Paul. Firstly welcome. Secondly the first thing to check is water in the electrics. Have you got a battery cover fitted? Had you, or anyone else, done anything to the car prior to the alarm going off. The main suspect for alarm faults is the bonnet switch but water in the electrics sounds more likely. Where are you located as we may have a member nearby who could offer advice or help. There is a mass of info on this site but we need to go step by step. Is there any sign of water or dampness in the passenger footwell?. This is a classic sign of water flooding the passenger side fusebox and if it enters the car it runs over the 'brains' which are located behind the passenger glovebox.  Wink
IP Logged