Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 19th, 2024, 10:35am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« huge power drain on battery! »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   huge power drain on battery!
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: huge power drain on battery!  (Read 3695 times)
ro284

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

huge power drain on battery!
« on: Dec 25th, 2012, 9:10am »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Happy Christmas guys! i was hoping to see family today, but the fully charged battery i fitted yesterday is absolutely flat! nothing obvious i can think of, open to any ideas! i've got it on charge again, don't know if i can start it today !
Bob
IP Logged

Bob Dorset
Simmo
Administrator

I'm an OAP !

View Profile

Re: huge power drain on battery!
« Reply #1 on: Dec 25th, 2012, 9:19am »

Bob. If you had had it off to charge presumably there was a problem in the first place?. If it was otherwise sound then you obviously have a large current drain. Interior lights, boot light, glove compartment light. Did you use the car yesterday? is the alternator charging correctly. If you didn't use or start the car yesterday are you sure the small black lead has been reconnected to the battery? It can sometimes slip out of site.  

Have a read of This re diagnostic test.
And This re non starting. Smiley
Then for good measure This Smiley  Good luck.
IP Logged

Now I'm an OAP
Scorpio

View Profile

« Reply #2 on: Dec 25th, 2012, 9:31am »

Check Relay 16 and Fuse 36. Also, glovebox/boot light switches.

Adam
IP Logged

ro284

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

« Reply #3 on: Dec 25th, 2012, 9:39am »