Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 19th, 2024, 10:28am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Engine misbehaving »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Engine misbehaving
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Engine misbehaving  (Read 3699 times)
magnetono59

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Engine misbehaving
« on: Jan 12th, 2013, 9:31pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Ford Scorpio 2L 16V estate. New years eve car would turn over but not fire. A suggestion on the site disconnect battery and reconnect worked. However two days later car would not turn over battery flat. Connected spare battery in parallel to find that both cooling fans on at high speed hence flat battery. Located cooling fan relay and dismantled looked ok. Even with relay out fans were attempting to move. Removed fuse 39 to stop and I am now driving without fans temporarily. There are other gremlins as sometimes the car will start ok and other times it takes several attempts. All this has happened since new years eve. Any suggestions appreciated.
IP Logged
PJDavis

2 x 1995 Jag X300 3.2 / 4.0 (Henley)   1957 XK140

View Profile Email

Re: Engine misbehaving
« Reply #1 on: Jan 13th, 2013, 7:16am »

The 2.0 ltr and 2.3 electric fans default to permanent ON if the sensor fails.   I only know this because on all of my cars that have ever had an electric fan I like to fit an inline switch to control them for when I drive in a foreign country.  I drove my Scorpio to Malta in 2011, and when I got to Malta it was 44 degrees C, with a blanket speed limit of 40 mph, the electric fans were on for most of the month when I drove it.   The Zodiac I have over there has twin kenlowes fitted with a switch also, although it has a lower thermostat.