Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 19th, 2024, 10:27am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Low oil pressure »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Low oil pressure
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Low oil pressure  (Read 3523 times)
Icarus

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Low oil pressure
« on: Mar 15th, 2013, 10:49pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi all

My 24v has covered just 23k and has run very well in the 3 weeks that I have owned her, but on a run back from Gatwick as I pulled off the M26 at Wrotham and the revs dropped to about 1000rpm the oil light can on and I could hear the engine knocking Sad

I could not stop there and then, so decided to head for the Shell garage just up the road, as I blipped the throttle the oil light went out and the engine knocking stopped, but again as I slowed for the right turn into the garage and the revs dropped, the oil light once more come on.

So low revs equalled low oil pressure.

The engine has got the cold start rattle, which disappears after a few seconds.

Now my own thoughts on this are that maybe the chain tensioner is leaking oil badly leading to low pressure, although as I do not know exactly how this part works, might not be correct at all!

Or that something has stopped the oil pumps prv from seating correctly, or the prv is faulty in someway?

Any advances on these 2 theories?

Going to drop the sump at some point and investigate, but is it possible to replace all the bearings with the engine is situ?

Thanks

Peter

IP Logged
amigafan2003

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Re: Low oil pressure
« Reply #1 on: Mar 15th, 2013, 10:56pm »

Done the obvious - checked the oil level?
IP Logged
Icarus

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

« Reply #2 on: Mar 15th, 2013, 11:00pm »