Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 19th, 2024, 8:23am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Help Overheating! »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Help Overheating!
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Help Overheating!  (Read 149 times)
ro284

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

Help Overheating!
« on: Jul 19th, 2013, 10:27pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

95, 2-9 estate, Took the car out today, (Still no ABS PLUG) after about 10 miles with air con on, The car started to get hot and rattley, possibly pinking! So stopped and noticed the coolant had gone, but was too hot to take the filler cap off, So waited an hour to let the engine cool down, topped up from a river, then went a few miles and the same thing happened again! A few times, eventually got the car home! When it is freshly topped up and cooled down, there is no rattle or pinking, it is only when low on water,  Then it is extremely hot!
 After all that i need a plan to find the problem, I feel it may be caused by a blockage, or the pump impellor loose, or an air lock! Stuck Stat! The overflow tube keeps squirting out hot water when i switch off. I guess it could be caused by a head Gasket! Any advice please,
Thanks Bob
IP Logged

Bob Dorset
leewar

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

Re: Help Overheating!
« Reply #1 on: Jul 20th, 2013, 12:52am »

I'd check the thermostat. Prone to sticking. Take it out and do the hot water test to see if it works.
IP Logged
Matt

Manual'd and a 4.0 in the making

View Profile Email

« Reply #2 on: Jul 20th, 2013, 5:52am »

Take the thermo stat out the split the cooling system into 3