Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 19th, 2024, 12:23am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Recently driving »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Recently driving
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2 3  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Recently driving  (Read 12569 times)
georgeodyphotos

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

Recently driving
« on: Sep 18th, 2013, 12:03pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Getting an intermittent problem from the rear end of my 2.3 Ultima estate. I will be driving quite normally when a very loud rapid clonking noise will be heard, sometimes followed by a sound similar to an exhaust dropping down and dragging on the ground. It then disappears but then it is sometimes followed by a low droaning noise.  Whatever can it be? There are no visible problems. My garage put it on the ramp and there was nothing to see.  Huh
IP Logged
Scorpio_Mike

Jeep Grand Cherokee 3.0 V6 & 2.8 Sierra XR4i 4x4

View Profile

Re: Recently driving
« Reply #1 on: Sep 18th, 2013, 12:23pm »

Check the rear wheel bearings - failure is not always obvious but needs to be checked asap  Shocked - common failure item on these cars.
Rapid clonking could also be a failing CV joint - is it more noticeable when going round a corner Huh
IP Logged

Star sign is Scorpio !
Sierra XR4i's are great...especially when fitted with 4WD Smiley
Jonnycab

Former owner of 2.3 Ultima Facelift saloon

View Profile

« Reply #2 on: Sep 19th, 2013, 12:28am »

A dodgy wheel bearing will make an intermittent moaning noise to start with, which will very quickly get worse the hotter it gets, until it reaches a horrible sqealing/grinding sound. If the noise gets to this point then the whole hub will have to be replaced as the sqealing/grinding is the broken bearing grinding away at the hub.