Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 19th, 2024, 6:09am

Balance: Ł16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Cosworth oily air filter »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Cosworth oily air filter
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Cosworth oily air filter  (Read 4232 times)
Andycan

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Cosworth oily air filter
« on: Oct 28th, 2013, 3:24pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Sorry to ask this as I am sure someone else did a few months ago.
I have just gone to change my air filter and found oil in the bottom of the box the air filter goes in. I assume it is coming from the pipe that disappears round the back of the engine.
Can I stop this oil from getting into the air filter or does it mean I need to replace something?

Thanks Andy
IP Logged
Simmo
Administrator

I'm an OAP !

View Profile

Re: Cosworth oily air filter
« Reply #1 on: Oct 28th, 2013, 3:55pm »

Andy. I am not familiar with the Cosworth BUT in the air filter box of the 2.0ltr there is a small square of sponge/foam in a pocket where the breather tube comes in. This certainly gets sooty/oily and is presumably designed to stop these deposits from getting to the filter itself. Worth a check as often it is overlooked and neglected to a point where it is just a crumbly mess!. The worst case scenario would seem to be that oil is getting past the rings and is a sign of wear. Let's hope not!. Huh
IP Logged

Now I'm an OAP
Mike H

Renault Clio

View Profile WWW Email

« Reply #2 on: Oct 28th, 2013, 8:10pm »