Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 19th, 2024, 12:33am

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« 2.3 'tinging' noise »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   2.3 'tinging' noise
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: 2.3 'tinging' noise  (Read 4747 times)
mk1_matt

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

2.3 'tinging' noise
« on: Jun 2nd, 2014, 10:56pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Can anyone help please! I have a few problems the first being a 'tinging' noise from the engine. Its not anything i have heard before. I dont think its timing chain related as its not really a rattle. On idle the noise is promenant but not regular, everything seems to behave ok and the engine pulls well but this noise is a bit unnerving. At higher rpm it is more frequent but still not rythmic and no louder, almost like something 'floating' around. It sounds likt its from the top/front of the engine......any ideas. It has a new exhaust front to back including cat so thats ruled out.
I also have a water leak from the rear of the engine but after some searching on here that sounds like a split matrix pipe so i'll tackle that at the weekend, im just miffed by this noise i have! Help.

Cheers

Matt
IP Logged
Simmo
Administrator

I'm an OAP !

View Profile

Re: 2.3 'tinging' noise
« Reply #1 on: Jun 3rd, 2014, 7:14am »

The first place to look is at the the heat shield 'cowling' attached to the exhaust manifold. It is made up of two sections bolted and screwed together. If it has not been correctly fitted it will either bounce on the exhaust or 'jangle about'. I'd bet money on that particularly if you've just had the cat  and exhaust done. Wink

Have a look at This and scroll to Para.16. That shows the unit and says it's three sections.
IP Logged

Now I'm an OAP
mk1_matt