Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 18th, 2024, 6:31pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Help 1996 Scorpio ultima »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Help 1996 Scorpio ultima
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Help 1996 Scorpio ultima  (Read 3825 times)
jls1936

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Help 1996 Scorpio ultima
« on: Mar 16th, 2016, 5:00pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

I was driving to Nantwich on the M6 on Monday and the car was running great. After about 30 miles I noticed that the temp gauge had hardly moved. After another 10 miles or so it went to the normal position dead on 3 o'clock. Another 10 miles and the gauge was down almost on the blue line.
 I got to my hotel and parked up. I was going home today, started the car up and put it in reverse , it was vibrating a lot and noisy. I checked all levels and they were ok. I decided to carry on and drive home. The temp gauge stayed on blue for 30 miles then gradually went to normal. and then went back down again. I got home checked all levels again and they were ok, but when I select reverse I get a lot of noise and vibration and the car just doesn't feel right. I left the engine running for about half an hour idling about 950 revs and the gauge goes back to normal and stayed like that. Has anyone else experienced this.
Regards
jls1936
IP Logged
Glyn

Now an OAP ! 95 cossie and another !and a 12v

View Profile

Re: Help 1996 Scorpio ultima
« Reply #1 on: Mar 16th, 2016, 9:20pm »

Not had the reverse problem but exactly the same temp gauge problem on my 2.9 16v and it was a faulty temp sensor.
IP Logged
Tompion
Administrator

1997 2.3 Ultima estate.

View Profile

« Reply #2 on: Mar 17th, 2016, 12:09am »

I suspect the 2 issues aren’t related.