Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 18th, 2024, 6:29pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« non starting »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   non starting
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: non starting  (Read 2683 times)
reedyone

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

non starting
« on: Dec 3rd, 2016, 2:09pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

hi, I'm new to the scorpio world but have a 24 valve cosworth 96 estate ultima   with 79 thou miles on it, the problem is sometimes when you go to start it, it just turns over and fails to fire. I have discovered if I disconnect the battery for 10 seconds it will then start , there seems no pattern to when it happens and it can do it when hot or cold . it can go days without a problem !  
IP Logged
Simmo
Administrator

I'm an OAP !

View Profile

Re: non starting
« Reply #1 on: Dec 3rd, 2016, 3:06pm »

Firstly welcome to the site. Smiley
The most common cause of non starting is the battery is either too small, needs charging, or is worn out. These cars need a lot of power to start them although the engine may turn over as you describe. Have a read of This page.

If you click on the FORD SCORPIO banner at the top of this page it will take you to the front page of the site. There you will see a number of 'option buttons' and if you click on Fault Finder that may also help.

Let us know how you get on as there is a wealth of knowledge on the site and amongst the members who will be pleased to help. Wink

It might also help to indicate where you are located in case there is anyone local to you who might offer assistance if you need it.
IP Logged

Now I'm an OAP
PJDavis

2 x 1995 Jag X300 3.2 / 4.0 (Henley)   1957 XK140

View Profile Email

Re: none starting
« Reply #2 on: Dec 3rd, 2016, 11:35pm »