Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 18th, 2024, 6:32pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« running rough 2.0 16v »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   running rough 2.0 16v
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: running rough 2.0 16v  (Read 1104 times)
szinyei

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

running rough 2.0 16v
« on: Dec 12th, 2016, 9:33pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

The car is runnig smoothly (4-5-6l/100km on steady 70-80 km/h). After a while it starts running rough. It means that it gets weak, the consumption goes up to around 8-9l/ 100km. If I accelerate in 5th gear, the consumption goes up to around 20l/100km instead of 14-15l/100km which is normal.
Idle means that usually it shows around 0.8-1 l/h and if it gets runnig rough it goes up to 1.5-2l/h, sometimes as it was running only on 2 cylinders.

Cure: ignition OFF then ON and it then runs again fine. (It is quite annoying if I need to do this on the motorway at night, lights go off and on...).

Any ideas?

The local garage measured the injection times and it then goes up substantially. In other times it is just ok. They do not know what the problem can be...

ECU, lambda sond, coils, wires, spark plugs, EGR Valve, fuel cut off loom (new!) were swapped but it did not help...

Appreciate any help!

(Wiring to EDIS seems to be cracked at some places but it does not seem to be serious, like bare wires or similar like with an old loom...)
IP Logged
Andycan

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Re: running rough 2.0 16v
« Reply #1 on: Dec 12th, 2016, 10:45pm »

Have you cleaned the MAF ?
IP Logged
Tompion
Administrator

1997 2.3 Ultima estate.

View Profile

« Reply #2 on: Dec 13th, 2016, 12:59am »