Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 18th, 2024, 4:35pm

Balance: £16.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Trunk opens independently »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Trunk opens independently
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Trunk opens independently  (Read 866 times)
Sir_Geffory

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Trunk opens independently
« on: Jul 21st, 2018, 10:11pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hello,my Trunk lid (hope ist the right word),from my 1997 Scorpio ggr, opened  independently when I made a short break  at a french highway.It took  a few tries till it was closed again.From this moment it happend a few times  when the car was unlocked and the engine didnt run.Anybody here who had the same problem?I put the Batterie out of the remote but it happend again. Fusebox?
I have no other electrical-problems.
Greetings from Germany
IP Logged
Tompion
Administrator

1997 2.3 Ultima estate.

View Profile

Re: Trunk opens independently
« Reply #1 on: Jul 22nd, 2018, 12:56pm »

A possibility on the saloon is the loom attached to the boot hinges can suffer damage from flexing, check both sides for bare wires.
IP Logged

ABS multiplug wheel sensor pins MK IV or MK 20
Simmo
Administrator

I'm an OAP !

View Profile

« Reply #2 on: Jul 22nd, 2018, 1:21pm »

Tompion is, as ever, quite right. If the boot trim has been disturbed near the rear seats it may allow the loom to come into contact with the boot hinges. This damages the wires and sometimes it is necessary to undo the tape to actually see the damage. Smiley
IP Logged

Now I'm an OAP
Tompion
Administrator

1997 2.3 Ultima estate.

View Profile

« Reply #3 on: Jul 22nd, 2018, 9:16pm »