Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jul 18th, 2024, 10:12am

Balance: £11.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Dies after 3 minutes »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Dies after 3 minutes
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Dies after 3 minutes  (Read 656 times)
szinyei

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Dies after 3 minutes
« on: Jul 4th, 2020, 1:48pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi everybody,

my car starts then runs well for around 3 minutes and then dies. It will not start, only if this sort of cold ignition spray is sprayed into the air intake. i.e. the injection stops. Also on LPG. EEC, relays, fuses, EDIS has been swapped, same behaviour. Next day it starts again for another 3 minutes. Any idea? Loom ok...fuse box dry, weather dry (it rained some days ago and after this appeared this problem. But if it was wet, it had plenty of time getting dry.  
IP Logged
PJDavis

2 x 1995 Jag X300 3.2 / 4.0 (Henley)   1957 XK140

View Profile Email

Re: Dies after 3 minutes
« Reply #1 on: Jul 11th, 2020, 10:59pm »

Fuel Problem.   I suspect water in the fuel.   Take a sample of fuel from the tank, and from the fuel rail.   Leave in a glass jar for a while, you will see the separation.     Also, when you put the ignition on, you should hear the fuel pump activate, you will need to also put a stethoscope onto the outside of the fuel tank to listen for the fuel pump 'working' after the initial 'ignition-on' prime.   You could have a fuel pump problem.

Always let us know how your problem is going, it's valuable information.
IP Logged

I love 'Movvy'
1995 Jaguar XJ6 X300 3.2 (Henley)
1995 Jaguar XJ6 X330 4.0 (Dopey)
1957 Jaguar XK140 USA (converted to RHD, and to have fitted Mk10 420G Engine with BW 65 Auto Trans)
szinyei

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile