Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jun 30th, 2024, 6:19pm

Balance: £6.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Car dead (ABS, ECU?) »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Car dead (ABS, ECU?)
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Car dead (ABS, ECU?)  (Read 353 times)
szinyei

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Car dead (ABS, ECU?)
« on: Mar 2nd, 2022, 7:57pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi everyone, after 23 years of ownership the end nears. Maybe not, if someone could help.
Electrically everything seems to be ok (2.0 16v 95). Spark plugs have no spark. The car would not start. Apparently, the ABS LED is constanly on. Could it be that the ABS control unit is not working properly and therefore the ECU will not allow the EDIS to control the spark plugs? Any suggestions? Again, it is not a cut off loom problem or whatever (maybe ECU --> ABS module connection, wires broken (?), if at all). Systems were swapped many times (ECU, EDIS, etc., everything is 100% ok, apart from ABS control unit. This was not checked yet). Sparks are missing. Thanks for your help. Maybe we can save the car, otherwise it is the end of it. Best regards, Csaba
IP Logged
Tompion
Administrator

1997 2.3 Ultima estate.

View Profile

Re: Car dead (ABS, ECU?)
« Reply #1 on: Mar 9th, 2022, 1:05pm »

I've never heard of the ABS affecting the running of the car & would think it highly unlikely. Plenty of owners have driven with the ABS light on until they have to get it fixed for the MOT. You can drive around with ABS disconnected.
I assume you've checked all fuses.