Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jun 30th, 2024, 4:19pm

Balance: £6.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Non starting issue. »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   Problems
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Baz, Simmo)
   Non starting issue.
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Reply Reply Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Non starting issue.  (Read 290 times)
Ryan_Williams

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Non starting issue.
« on: Sep 13th, 2023, 11:05pm »
Quote Quote Modify Modify

Hi all.

Last weekend we went to where we store our 2.0 Ultima Scorpio, with the intention of putting a battery on it, a few gallons of fuel in the tank, and firing it up to probably put it back on the road for next month.
It's been off the road for around 2 and a half years now, and was last started/driven probably 18 months ago, but we weren't expecting any issues as they always start up first time normally.

When we first turned the key to start it, I'm fairly certain I heard the fuel pump prime, and it did start when I tried it, but stalled after about 2-3 seconds. After that, trying to start resulted in the occasional second or two of running, but nothing more, and we never heard the fuel pump running again.
We checked any fuses that the book said were related to the pump, and gave the relay a tap, but to no avail.
We also tried pouring a little bit of fuel into the intake, and the car started and ran perfectly for a few seconds.

My question is, what's the easiest way to check the fuel pump, and is there anything we may have missed that could cause this?
IP Logged
Torbayboy

View Profile

Re: Non starting issue.
« Reply #1 on: Sep 14th, 2023, 8:23am »

I'm not as wise as many on here, but listen for the whirl of the fuel pump, make sure the cut off switch is correct in the boot and add or replace with fresh fuel.