Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jun 30th, 2024, 8:25pm

Balance: £6.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« handbrake cable »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   How to do things!
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Simmo, Baz)
   handbrake cable
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1  Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: handbrake cable  (Read 2567 times)
bigfrank

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

handbrake cable
« on: Oct 21st, 2010, 7:54am »

handbrake cable how hard are they to replace
IP Logged
Simmo
Administrator

I'm an OAP !

View Profile

Re: handbrake cable
« Reply #1 on: Oct 21st, 2010, 11:56am »

The details are in the relevant section on This page. I have left the 'index' up as you may find the other sections helpful. I have not  done one but I think the main problem is access to the 'yoke' which can be awkward. Where the heavy protective sheathing carries the cable through the chassis there is a clip which needs to be released to allow you to slacken the cable. This is necessary if you are trying to release the cable from the caliper arm as otherwise there is not enough slack to enable the eye of the cable to be removed.
IP Logged

Now I'm an OAP
Stixy

I should know better

View Profile

« Reply #2 on: Oct 21st, 2010, 1:48pm »

I have just done one of these Smiley on a 16v

raise the rear end up as high as you can and support the car well

undo the exhaust from the front  pipe and unhook the rest of the system and move it out the way

spray wd40 or similar onto the hexagon clips wich hold on the heat sheilds  

remove the rear then the front heatsheilds  

look above the propshaft and you will see the "yoke" there will be a spring clip holding the pin in place remove the clip then knock the pin up and out  . and put somwhere safe Wink