Click to return to main site

Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register.
Jun 30th, 2024, 4:25pm

Balance: £6.65
Home Home Help Help Search Search Members Members Login Login
Ford Scorpio Forum« Rear Shocks on a Cosworth 24v estate »
   Ford Scorpio Forum
   General
   How to do things!
(Moderators: admin, Highlander, scorpio_man, Simmo, Baz)
   Rear Shocks on a Cosworth 24v estate
« Previous topic | Next topic »
Pages: 1 2  Send Topic Send Topic Print Print
   Author  Topic: Rear Shocks on a Cosworth 24v estate  (Read 4228 times)
Gingerbeer

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile

Rear Shocks on a Cosworth 24v estate
« on: May 31st, 2016, 7:28pm »

Not a new subject I know but couldn't find the info I needed so far.
I am getting two Monroe shocks (as suggested on this forum) tomorrow - £40 the pair - and I have been trying to get the others out. I eventually found where the top bits were and moved on from there.
My question is - when you lower the suspension parts to get the spring and the shock out - which at the moment looks impossible even with compressors, do you have to remove the drive shaft from the hub and the roll bar as well to get enough drop to get the spring out.  
What a job - I am broken.
Apparently according to this forum PC police, I am broken. I am not broken, I am Kn*****ed
Cheers
Colin
IP Logged
GrahamT

I'm a YaBB newbie!

View Profile Email

Re: Rear Shocks on a Cosworth 24v estate
« Reply #1 on: Jun 1st, 2016, 12:23am »

I got my shock absorbers out just using spring compressors, fairly easily to be fair. I have previously dropped the whole rear subframe which was a bigger job simply because of the number of connections to seperate (brake hoses, cables, prop shaft, etc.) and the size/weight of it all but still fairly straightforward if your methodical. No hubs need to be seperated, the driveshafts, diff and all drop down as one unit.

Good luck!
Graham
IP Logged
Snoopy
Administrator

Very old.BAD tempered and missing friends.

View Profile Email